Fair housing refers to the laws and rules governing the rights of all equal access to housing. The Federal Fair Housing act is governed by the US Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). In addition, there are state laws expanding on the federal laws. The classes of people protected by Fair Housing are as follows:

  • Race
  • Color
  • Religion
  • National Origin
  • Familial status
  • Diability
  • Sex

South Dakota adds two categories:

  • Creed
  • Ancestry

It is unlawful for an owner (or representative of an owner) to refuse to sell, rent or lease any property; to treat people differently in the terms or conditions of any sale, rental or lease; to ask questions, make records, print signs or advertise in a manner that discriminates on the basis of those protected classes.

Because of the heavy fines and legal fees accompanying a fair housing violation, it is best that all communication with Residents go through our office.

We understand property management and property investments. With over thirty years’ experience in property management and more than 300 offices in the United States and Canada, we have become the largest property management franchise in North America.